Home > Comps, World Cup > IFSC Vail World Cup 2011 Semifinal Results

IFSC Vail World Cup 2011 Semifinal Results

Unfortunately I missed semifinals, but my new roommate Wendy and I got to Vail in time to watch some dog dock jumping…

The best dog in the Dock Dog Jump | Jackie Hueftle

…see Climbing School Director Brett Merlin faceplant in the mud pit during the mud run (I wish I had a picture!), and score some free samples and the very first slap bracelet I’ve seen since I was in elementary school!

Slap bracelet. Yes!

While we were having all the fun the Teva Games had to offer, the setters were up at the wall stripping semis and getting finals ready for the 5 pm start time.  The finalists were a mixed group with some very solid representation from several countries.  There were two Austrians (m-Kilian Fischhuber and f-Anna Stöhr), two Japanese (m-Rei Sugimoto and f-Akiyo Noguchi), two French (m-Guillaume Glairon Mondet and f-Melissa La Neve), two Americans (f-Alex Puccio and f-Angie Payne), a Russian (m-Dmitry Sharafutdinov), an Australian (m-Chris Webb-Parsons), a Korean (f-Jain Kim), and a German (m-Jonas Baumann).

Jonas Baumann in semis | Klemen Becan

Last year’s winner Daniel Woods ended up in 11th, and 2008 women’s winner Alex Johnson took 7th.

Here are the rest of the semi’s results (Americans in bold).  Finalists are the top 6–above the lines.

Men’s Semifinals Results

1. Rei Sugimoto (JPN)

2. Kilian Fischuber (AUT)

3. Guillaume Glairon Mondet (FRA)

4. Chris Webb-Parsons (AUS)

5. Dmitry Sharafutdinov (RUS)

6. Jonas Baumann (GER)


7. Atsushi Shimizu (JPN)

8. Tsukuru Hori (JPN)

9. Julian Bautista

10. Rustam Gelmanov (RUS)

11. Daniel Woods

12. Austin Geiman

13. Nicky De Leeuw (NED)

14. Zach Lerner

15. Sean McColl (CAN)

16. Loïc Gaidioz (FRA)

17. Ian Dory

18. Stefan Danker (GER)

19. Carlo Traversi

20. Casper Ten Sijthoff (NED)

21. Keita Mogaki (JPN)

Women’s Semifinals Results

1. Alex Puccio

2. Melissa La Neve (FRA)

3. Anna Stöhr (AUT)

4. Jain Kim (KOR)

5. Akiyo Noguchi (JPN)

6. Angela Payne


7. Alex Johnson

8. Mina Markovic (SLO)

9. Dana Riddle

10. Anne-Laure Chevrier (FRA)

11. Katharina Saurwein (AUT)

12. Tiffany Hensley

13. Tyler Youngwerth

14. Elise Sethna (CAN)

15. Vera Zijlstra (NED)

16. Juliane Wurm (GER)

17. Chelsea Rude

18. Andrea Szekely (HUN)

19. Kasia Pietras

20. Sol Sa (KOR)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: