Home > Random Musings, Strange Breakages > Strange T-Nut Breakage

Strange T-Nut Breakage

Wow...

What is going on here is that the sleeve of the t-nut has broken off of the t-nut base and come out the front of the wall still attached to the bolt and hold I was tightening when it happened.

I was hand-tightening the hold with the wrench you see in the picture and I wasn’t even at the tighten-it-down stage, I was still doing the initial tightening when the threads first start to pull the hold in snugly.

I felt a pop and the tension eased–which is how it feels when the bolt has stripped out a t-nut sleeve and won’t tighten (i.e the t-nut sleeve is now devoid of threads and you have to replace it) but this time the hold came off the wall with the t-nut sleeve still attached!

After I took this photo I easily removed the sleeve from the bolt by turning it with my fingers. This means that the bolt was not welded to the sleeve at all, so it broke under almost no pressure in completely normal setting activity.

So, yeah. Has anyone else had this happen? I’ve been setting for nearly 13 years and this was the first time I’ve had a t-nut break like this under circumstances like this.

  1. Chuck Diesel
    February 19, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Setting’s been a hobby and passion for the past 7+ years for me and I’ve yet to have seen t-nut stripped from its base. Hopefully it was a defect and will not occur again. If it does, i wouldn’t be hesitant to contact the manufacturer/producer of the nut will warranty that problem.

  2. February 22, 2012 at 11:27 am

    This happens somewhat frequently (read: more often than it should) at my gym in Olympia, WA, mostly due to the builders of the gym using furniture-grade t-nuts in some places to save cost. In your case, definitely sounds like a defect to me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

